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Rule 1.10 

 

ADMISSION PRO HAC VICE OF OUT-OF-STATE ATTORNEY 
 

(a) Eligibility for Admission. An attorney not admitted to practice law 

in Kansas may request admission to practice law in the Kansas ap-

pellate courts for a specific case if the attorney meets the following 

requirements: 

(1) has an active law license from the highest court of another state, 

the District of Columbia, or a United States territory; 

(2) is in good standing under the rules of that jurisdiction; and 

(3) associates with a Kansas attorney of record in the case who is 

registered as active under Supreme Court Rule 206 and is in 

good standing under the Supreme Court Rules. 

(b) Kansas Attorney’s Duties. The Kansas attorney of record under 

subsection (a)(3) must fulfill the following duties: 

(1) actively engage in the case;  

(2) sign and file all pleadings, documents, and briefs under Su-

preme Court Rules 1.12 and 1.14; and  

(3) attend any prehearing conference or oral argument. 

(c) Pro Hac Vice Motion. An out-of-state attorney must request admis-

sion pro hac vice for each appellate case.  

(1) Requirements. The following requirements apply to the mo-

tion for admission pro hac vice. 

(A) The Kansas attorney must file the motion.  

(B) The motion must include the out-of-state attorney’s veri-

fied application under subsection (d).  

(C) The Kansas attorney must file the motion as soon as possi-

ble but no later than the date the out-of-state attorney ap-

pears on any document filed in the case or 15 days before 

the out-of-state attorney appears at any prehearing confer-

ence or oral argument. 

(D) The Kansas attorney must serve the motion on all parties 

and the client the out-of-state attorney seeks to represent in 

the appellate court. 

(2) Denial of Motion. An appellate court must specify the reason 

for denying any pro hac vice motion. 

(d) Verified Application. 

(1) Contents. The out-of-state attorney must include the following 

information in the attorney’s verified application for admission 

pro hac vice: 

(A) the client represented; 
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(B) the Kansas attorney’s name; attorney registration number; 

business address; telephone number; email address; and 

fax number, if any; 

(C) the out-of-state attorney’s business address; telephone 

number; e-mail address; and fax number, if any; 

(D) all jurisdictions that have admitted the out-of-state attorney 

to the practice of law and the dates of admission and attor-

ney registration numbers; 

(E) a statement that the out-of-state attorney is in good stand-

ing under the rules of each jurisdiction identified under 

subsection (d)(1)(D);  

(F) a statement that the out-of-state attorney has never received 

public discipline, including suspension, disbarment, or loss 

of license, in any jurisdiction; 

(G) a statement that the out-of-state attorney has no pending 

attorney disciplinary complaint in any jurisdiction or a de-

tailed description of the pending complaint and the address 

of the disciplinary authority in charge; and 

(H) the case name, case number, and court where the out-of-

state attorney has appeared pro hac vice in Kansas in the 

last 12 months, if any. 

(2) Obligation to Report Changes. The out-of-state attorney has 

a continuing obligation to notify the court of any change in the 

information the attorney provided in the application. 

(e) Fee. The attorney must submit a nonrefundable fee of $300, payable 

to the clerk of the appellate courts, with each motion for admission 

pro hac vice.  

(1) Disciplinary Fee Fund. The Office of the Clerk of the Appel-

late Courts will forward the fee to the Office of Judicial Admin-

istration, which will deposit the fee in the disciplinary fee fund.  

(2) Waiver. The Kansas attorney may move the court to waive the 

fee if the out-of-state attorney represents the government or an 

indigent party. The Kansas attorney must move for waiver be-

fore filing the motion for admission pro hac vice.  

(f) Service. Serving a document on the Kansas attorney has the same 

effect as personally serving the document on the attorney admitted 

pro hac vice. 

(g) Consent to Disciplinary Jurisdiction. An out-of-state attorney 

who is admitted under this rule consents to the exercise of discipli-

nary jurisdiction under Supreme Court Rule 202(a)(5).  

(h) Appearance by Self-Represented Litigant. This rule does not pro-

hibit a party from appearing before an appellate court on the party’s 

own behalf. 
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[History: New rule effective July 1, 2005; Restyled rule and amended 

effective July 1, 2012; Am. effective November 1, 2024.] 

https://kscourts.gov/Rules-Orders/Orders/Admin-Orders/2024-RL-085

