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Rule 231 
 

NOTICE TO CLIENTS, OPPOSING COUNSEL, AND COURTS 

FOLLOWING SUSPENSION OR DISBARMENT 
 

(a) Attorney’s Duty.  

(1) Notice. No later than 14 days after the Supreme Court issues an 

order suspending an attorney’s license to practice law or disbar-

ring an attorney, the attorney must complete the following re-

quirements.  

(A) Client Notice. The attorney must notify in writing each cli-

ent that the client should obtain new counsel because the 

attorney is suspended or disbarred and is no longer author-

ized to practice law in Kansas. 

(B) Withdrawal. The attorney must file in each proceeding in 

which the attorney is counsel of record a notice of with-

drawal stating that the attorney is suspended or disbarred 

and is no longer authorized to practice law in Kansas.  

(C) Opposing Counsel and Court. The attorney must notify 

the following individuals and jurisdictions in writing that 

the attorney is suspended or disbarred and is no longer au-

thorized to practice law in Kansas:  

(i)  all opposing counsel; 

(ii) the clerk of the district court and the chief judge of 

each judicial district where the attorney is counsel of 

record; and 

(iii) each United States jurisdiction and each foreign juris-

diction where the attorney is or has been authorized to 

practice law. 

(2) Certification. No later than 30 days after the Supreme Court 

issues an order suspending an attorney’s license to practice law 

or disbarring an attorney, the attorney must provide an affidavit 

to the Supreme Court certifying that the attorney complied with 

subsection (a)(1).  

(b) Continued Practice. It is the unauthorized practice of law and a 

violation of Kansas Rule of Professional Conduct 5.5 for an attorney 

to continue to practice law in Kansas after the Supreme Court issues 

an order suspending or disbarring the attorney.  

(c) Notice by Clerk. No later than 14 days after the Supreme Court is-

sues an order suspending or disbarring an attorney, the clerk of the 

appellate courts will provide notice that the attorney is suspended or 

disbarred to the chief judge of the district in which the attorney re-

sides and the clerk of the supreme court of any other state and any 

federal court in which the attorney is licensed to practice law. 
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[History: New rule adopted effective January 1, 2021.] 

 


