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Amendments to Rule 1.10 and Rule 116 

Rules Relating to Admission Pro Hac Vice 

The Kansas Supreme Court is accepting public comment on proposed amendments to 

Rule 1.10: Admission Pro Hac Vice of Out-of-State Attorney Before the Kansas 

Appellate Courts and Rule 116: Admission Pro Hac Vice of Out-of-State Attorney.   

The proposed amendments include the following changes: 

• increasing the fee to $300 when an out-of-state attorney requests to practice law in

the appellate courts or a district court;

• removing the requirement to include the out-of-state attorney’s residential address

on the verified application;

• clarifying that the Kansas attorney must file all documents in the case;

• clarifying the procedure for moving to waive the admission fee; and

• restyling the rules to align with other Supreme Court rules.

The court uses strikethrough to show deletions and underlining to show new language. 

You may comment on the proposed amendments by email to  
scrulespubliccomment@kscourts.org until 5 p.m. October 4, 2024. You must include 

“Rules 1.10 and 116” in the subject line. 

ADMISSION PRO HAC VICE OF OUT-OF-STATE ATTORNEY BEFORE THE 

KANSAS APPELLATE COURTS 

(a) Eligibility for Admission Pro Hac Vice. An attorney not admitted to practice law

in Kansas may be admitted on motion request admission to practice law in a the

Kansas appellate courts —for a particular specific case only—if the attorney meets

the following requirements: 

(1) has an active law license from the highest court of is regularly engaged in

practicing law in another state, the District of Columbia, or a United States

territory, or the District of Columbia;
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(2) is in good standing under the rules of the highest appellate court in that

jurisdiction; and

(3) associates shows association with an Kansas attorney of record in the case

who: is registered as active under Supreme Court Rule 206 

(A) is regularly engaged in practicing law in Kansas; and

(B) is in good standing under the Kansas Supreme Court Rules.

(b) Kansas Attorney’s Duties. The Kansas attorney of record under subsection (a)(3)

must fulfill the following duties:

(1) be actively engaged in the case;

(2) sign and file all pleadings, documents, and briefs under Supreme Court

Rules 1.12 and 1.14; and

(3) attend any be present at a prehearing conference or oral argument, if

scheduled. 

(c) Service. Service of a paper in a case on the Kansas attorney of record under

subsection (a) has the same effect as if personally served on the attorney admitted

pro hac vice. 

(cd) Pro Hac Vice Motion. An out-of-state attorney must request separate motion for

admission pro hac vice must be filed for each appellate case.

(1) Requirements. The following requirements apply to the motion for

admission pro hac vice. must be: 

(A) filed by tThe Kansas attorney must file the motion. of record;

(B) accompanied by The motion must include the out-of-state attorney’s

verified application, complying with under subsection (de);

(C) The Kansas attorney must filed with the clerk of the appellate courts

when the case is docketed or, if the motion as soon as possible but

relates to briefing or oral argument, no later than the date the out-of-

state attorney appears on any document filed in the case or 15 days

before the out-of-state attorney appears at any prehearing conference

brief due date or oral argument. date; and 
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(D) The Kansas attorney must served the motion on all parties and on the 

client the out-of-state attorney’s client seeks to represent in the 

appellate court. 

(2) Denial of Motion. If the An appellate court must specify the reason for 

denying any pro hac vice denies the motion, it must state reasons for the 

denial. 

(de) Verified Application. 

(1) Contents. An The out-of-state attorney must include the following 

information in the attorney’s verified application for admission pro hac vice 

must include: 

(A) a statement identifying the client party or parties represented; 

(B) the Kansas attorney’s name,; attorney registration number; business 

address,; telephone number,; email address; and fax number, e-mail 

address, and Kansas attorney registration number of the Kansas 

attorney of record if any; 

(C) the out-of-state attorney’s applicant’s residence address and business 

address,; telephone number,; fax number, and e-mail address; and 

fax number, if any; 

(D) all jurisdictions that have the bar(s) to which the applicant is 

admitted, the out-of-state attorney to the practice of law and the 

date(s) of admission, and the applicable attorney registration 

number(s); 

(E) a statement that the out-of-state attorney applicant is a member in 

good standing of each bar under the rules of each jurisdiction 

identified under subsection (d)(1)(D);  

(F) a statement that the out-of-state attorney has never received 

applicant has not been the subject of prior public discipline, 

including suspension, or disbarment, or loss of license, in any 

jurisdiction; 

(G) a statement that the out-of-state attorney has no pending attorney 

applicant is not currently the subject of a disciplinary complaint in 

any action or investigation in any jurisdiction or, if the applicant is 

currently the subject of a disciplinary action or investigation, the 
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application must provide a detailed description of the pending 

complaint the nature and status of the action or investigation and the 

address of the disciplinary authority in charge; and 

(H) if applicable, the case name, case number, and the court where the 

out-of-of state attorney in which the applicant has been granted 

permission to appeared pro hac vice in Kansas within the preceding 

last 12 months, if any. 

(2) Obligation to Report Changes. The applicant out-of-state attorney has a 

continuing obligation to notify the clerk of the appellate courts if of any 

change occurs in any of the information the attorney provided in the 

application. 

(ef) Fee. The attorney must submit a A non-refundable fee of $1300, payable to the 

clerk of the appellate courts, must accompany a with each motion for admission 

pro hac vice in each case.  

(1) Disciplinary Fee Fund. The Office of the Clerk of the Appellate Courts 

will forward the fee to the Office of Judicial Administration, which will 

deposit the fee in the disciplinary fee fund.  

(2) Waiver. The Kansas An attorney representing the government or an 

indigent party may move the court to—for good cause—for waiver of the 

fee if the out-of-state attorney represents the government or an indigent 

party. The Kansas attorney must move for waiver before filing the motion 

for admission pro hac vice.  

(f) Service. Serving a document on the Kansas attorney has the same effect as 

personally serving the document on the attorney admitted pro hac vice. 

(g) Consent to Disciplinary Jurisdiction. By applying for admission pro hac vice 

under this rule, aAn out-of-state attorney who is admitted under this rule consents 

to the exercise of disciplinary jurisdiction by the Kansas appellate courts under 

Supreme Court Rule 202(a)(5).  

(h) Appearance Pro Se by Self-Represented Litigant. This rule does not prohibit a 

party from appearing before an appellate court on the party’s own behalf. 
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Rule 116 

 

ADMISSION PRO HAC VICE OF OUT-OF-STATE ATTORNEY 
 

(a) Eligibility for Admission Pro Hac Vice. An attorney not admitted to practice law 

in Kansas may be admitted on motion request admission to practice law in a 

Kansas district court or an administrative tribunal —for a particular specific case 

only—if the attorney meets the following requirements: 

(1) has an active law license from the highest court of is regularly engaged in 

practicing law in another state, the District of Columbia, or a United States 

territory, or the District of Columbia; 

(2) is in good standing under the rules of the highest appellate court in that 

jurisdiction; and 

(3) is associatesd with an Kansas attorney of record in the case who: is 

registered as active under Supreme Court Rule 206 

(A) is regularly engaged in practicing law in Kansas; and  

(B) is in good standing under the Kansas Supreme Court Rules. 

(b) Kansas Attorney’s Duties. The Kansas attorney of record under subsection (a)(3) 

must fulfill the following duties: 

(1) be actively engaged in the case;  

(2) sign and file all pleadings, and other documents, and briefs; 

(3) be present throughout all court or administrative appearances proceedings; 

and 

(4) attend each any deposition or mediation unless excused by the court or 

tribunal or under a local rule. 

(c) Service. Service of a document in a case on the Kansas attorney of record under 

subsection (a) has the same effect as if personally served on the attorney admitted 

pro hac vice. 

(cd) Pro Hac Vice Motion. An out-of-state attorney must request separate motion for 

admission pro hac vice must be filed for each case.  
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(1) Requirements. The following requirements apply to the motion for 

admission pro hac vice. must be: 

(A) filed by tThe Kansas attorney must file the motion. of record; 

(B) accompanied by The motion must include the out-of-state attorney’s 

verified application, complying with under subsection (de);  

(C) The Kansas attorney must filed with the motion court or 

administrative tribunal in which the case is pending as soon as 

reasonably possible but no later than the date the out-of-state 

attorney appears on any document filed in the case files a pleading 

or appears personally at any proceeding.; and 

(D) The Kansas attorney must served the motion on all counsel of 

record, unrepresented parties not in default for failure to appear, and 

the client the out-of-state attorney’s client seeks to represent. 

(2) Denial of Motion. If the A district court or an administrative tribunal must 

specify the reason for denying any pro hac vice denies the motion, it must 

state reasons for the denial. 

(de) Verified Application. 

(1) Contents. An The out-of-state attorney must include the following 

information in the attorney’s verified application for admission pro hac vice 

must include: 

(A) a statement identifying the client party or parties represented; 

(B) the Kansas attorney’s name,; attorney registration number; business 

address,; telephone number,; fax number, e-mail address,; and fax 

number, if any Kansas attorney registration number of the Kansas 

attorney of record; 

(C) the out-of-state attorney’s applicant’s residence address and business 

address,; telephone number,; e-mail address; and fax number, if any 

and e-mail address; 

(D) all jurisdictions that have each bar to which the applicant is 

admitted, the out-of-state attorney to the practice of law and the 

dates of admission to each bar, and each applicable attorney 

registration numbers; 
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(E) a statement that the out-of-state attorney applicant is a member in 

good standing of each bar under the rules of each jurisdiction 

identified under subsection (d)(1)(D); 

(F) a statement that the out-of-state attorney has never received 

applicant has not been the subject of prior public discipline, 

including suspension, or disbarment, or loss of license, in any 

jurisdiction; 

(G) a statement that the out-of-state attorney has no pending attorney 

applicant is not currently the subject of a disciplinary complaint in 

any action or investigation in any jurisdiction or, if the applicant is 

currently the subject of a disciplinary action or investigation, a 

detailed description of the pending complaint the nature and status of 

the action or investigation and the address of the disciplinary 

authority in charge; and 

(H) if applicable, the case name, case number, and the court where the 

out-of-state attorney in which the applicant has been granted 

permission to appeared pro hac vice in Kansas within the preceding 

last 12 months, if any. 

(2) Obligation to Report Changes. The applicant out-of-state attorney has a 

continuing obligation to notify the district court or administrative tribunal if 

of any change occurs in any of the information the attorney provided in the 

application. 

(ef) Fee; District Court. The attorney must submit motion under subsection (d) must 

be accompanied by a non-refundable fee of $1300, payable to the clerk of the 

district court, with each motion for admission pro hac vice.  

(1) Disciplinary Fee Fund. The clerk of the district court will forward the fee 

to the Office of Judicial Administration, which will deposit the fee in the 

disciplinary fee fund. 

(2) Waiver. An administrative tribunal may impose a similar fee. The Kansas 

attorney of record may seek move the court to waiver of the fee—for good 

cause— if the out-of-state attorney represents the government or an 

indigent party. The Kansas attorney must move for waiver before filing the 

motion for admission pro hac vice. 
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(f) Fee; Administrative Tribunal. An administrative tribunal may impose a similar 

fee as provided in subsection (e). 

(g) Service. Serving a document on the Kansas attorney has the same effect as 

personally serving the document on the attorney admitted pro hac vice. 

(hg) Consent to Disciplinary Jurisdiction. By applying for admission pro hac vice 

under this rule, aAn out-of-state attorney who is admitted under this rule consents 

to the exercise of disciplinary jurisdiction by Kansas courts and administrative 

tribunals under Supreme Court Rule 202(a)(5).  

(ih) Appearance Pro Se by Self-Represented Litigant. This rule does not prohibit a 

party from appearing before a district court or an administrative tribunal on the 

party’s own behalf. 

(ji) Exemption for Out-of-State Attorney in Qualifying Indian Child Welfare Act 

Proceeding. The following provisions apply in a Qualifying Indian Child Welfare 

Act proceeding.  

(1) Association with Kansas Attorney and Fee Not Required; Other 

Inapplicable Provisions. If a court determines that an out-of-state attorney 

has met the requirements under paragraph (2): 

(A) the out-of-state attorney is not required to associate with a Kansas 

attorney of record under subsection (a)(3); 

(B) the out-of-state attorney is not required to pay the fee established 

under subsection (f); and  

(C) subsections (b), (c), and (d)(1)(A) are inapplicable.  

(12) Exemption Requirements. To qualify for the exemptions under paragraph 

(1), the An out-of-state attorney must establish is not required to associate 

with a Kansas attorney of record under subsection (a)(3) or to pay the fee 

under subsection (e) if a district court determines that the attorney qualifies 

for an exemption. To qualify, the attorney must establish the following 

requirements: 

(A) that the attorney seeks to appear in a Kansas court for the limited 

purpose of participating in a child custody proceeding as defined by 

25 U.S.C. § 1903, under the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978, 25 

U.S.C. § 1901 et seq.; 
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(B) that the attorney represents a parent or an Indian tribe, parent, or 

Indian custodian, as each of those terms is defined by 25 U.S.C. § 

1903;  

(C) the Indian tribe has affirmed the child’s membership or eligibility for 

membership under tribal law; and 

(DC) one of the following: 

(i) if the attorney represents an Indian tribe, the tribe has asserted its the 

tribe’s intent to intervene and participate in the state court 

proceeding and affirming the child’s membership or eligibility for 

membership under tribal law or 

(ii) if the attorney represents a parent or Indian custodian, the tribe has 

affirmed the child’s membership or eligibility for membership under 

tribal law. 

(2) Inapplicable Provisions. Subsections (b), (c)(1)(A), and (g) are 

inapplicable when an out-of-state attorney qualifies for an exemption under 

subsection (j)(1).  

 

 




