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State Legislation Generally

 Every state legislature has acted to 

change pretrial policy in some way since 

2012.

 More than 800 bills have been enacted 

in that same timeframe.

 Legislative efforts to change pretrial 

policy have largely been bipartisan.



What areas of pretrial 

policy has legislation 

addressed?



Risk Assessments

2012-2018: 29 states enacted 58 laws



Statewide Risk Assessments

2012-2018: 13 states authorize statewide risk assessment



 CA SB 10 (2018)

 IL SB 2034 (2017)

 IN HB 1137 (2017)

 MT SB 59  (2017)

 RI HB 5064/SB 10 

(2017)

 HI HB 1135 (2017)

 MA HB 3800 (2017)

 MI HB 4323 (2017)

 ND SB 2015 (2017)

 NY SB 5492 (2017)

 OR HB 2238 (2017)

 TX SB 1326 (MH) 

(2017)

 VT SB 134 (2017)

 WA HB 1163 (DV) 

(2017)

 AK HB 312 (2018)

 DE HB 204 (2018)

 IA HB 2492 (2018)*

 MD HB 447 (2018)

 MA SB 2371 (2018)

 MI SB 848 (2018)

 PA SB 449 (2018)

 WV HB 4228 (2018)

Recent Statewide 

Expansions

Other Risk Assessment 

Enactments 2017 & 2018

Risk Assessments: Recent Enactments



Presumption of Release on Recognizance or 

Non-Financial Conditions

23 states have a presumption of release on non-financial conditions and California prohibits use of financial conditions.



Least Restrictive Conditions of 

Pretrial Release

18 states & D.C. require the use of least restrictive conditions 4 states structure how conditions are imposed

Updated through 2018



Court Guidance on Release Conditions

 Significant Legislation from 2017 & 2018:

 Expanded the number of states with a 

presumption of the least restrictive conditions.

 Limited courts’ ability to impose financial 

conditions and California prohibited financial 

conditions altogether.

 Required courts to consider a defendant’s ability 

to pay financial conditions or pretrial supervision 

fees.

 Sped up review of conditions of release for those 

who aren’t able to meet initial conditions.



Court Guidance: Release & Ability to Pay

 Limits a court’s ability to 

impose financial 

conditions.

 Shortens the period until 

bail review hearing and 

authorizes courts to 

remove financial 

conditions.

 Presumption of non-

financial/least restrictive 

conditions.

 Court guidance on defendant’s 

ability to pay.

 Review of conditions for 

defendants detained by financial 

conditions of release.

 Ensures pretrial access to 

counsel.

 Reduction of bail by $30 for each 

day in jail on specified offenses.

Connecticut HB 7044 (2017) Illinois SB 2034 (2017)



Court Guidance: Release & Ability to Pay

 Requires courts to consider all 

methods of bond and conditions 

to avoid incarceration.

 Requires courts to consider 

ability to pay if they determine 

that a PR bond is not 

appropriate.

 Requires court to impose the 

least onerous conditions 

necessary.

 Pretrial services/supervision 

changes.

 Addresses release by 

municipal and justice courts 

only.

 Limits the use of bail bonds 

and encourages the use of 

PR bonds.

 Presumes inability to pay 

after 48 hours if the 

defendant does not post a 

bail bond and encourages 

use of a PR bond.

 Limits the use of warrants 

after FTA.

Nebraska L 259 (2017) Texas SB 1913 (2017)



Court Guidance: Release & Ability to Pay

 DE HB 204 - Creates 2nd look provision if a 

defendant is not released in 72 hours – courts must 

review within 10 days. Adds language authorizing 

conditions beyond appearance agreement only if 

they are related to public safety, mitigating flight 

or the integrity of the process. 

 GA SB 407 – Requires courts to consider a 

defendants financial resources including income, 

assets and financial obligations prior to setting 

bail. 

2018 Notable Enactments



Court Guidance: Release & Ability to Pay

 MA SB 2371 – Requires court to consider defendant’s 

financial resources when setting bail at an amount not 

higher than would reasonably ensure appearance. 

 NH SB 556 – Requires that court not impose a financial 

condition that will result in detention solely because of 

a defendant’s inability to pay. Creates an option for 

motion for 2nd look within 36 hours.

 VT HB 728 - Requires courts to consider a defendants 

financial means prior to imposing any financial 

conditions of release.

2018 Notable Enactments Continued



Conditions of Pretrial Release

2012-2018: 43 states & D.C. enacted 151 laws



Conditions of Pretrial Release

NCSL Conditions of Release Database

http://www.ncsl.org/research/civil-and-criminal-justice/pretrial-release-conditions


Pretrial Services

NCSL Brief on Pretrial Services
2012-2018: 30 states enacted 87 laws

http://www.ncsl.org/research/civil-and-criminal-justice/ncsl-crime-brief-providing-pretrial-services.aspx


Defendant Eligibility for Pretrial Release

2012-2018: 33 states & D.C. enacted 84 laws



Addressing Victims During the Pretrial Process

 The majority of states provide victims with 

the right to be notified of a defendant’s 

release.

 The majority of states have laws addressing 

victim participation during the pretrial 

stage.

 This includes the right to be heard or the right 

to be consulted.



State Legislation Addressing Victims and Pretrial Policy

2012-2018: 39 states enacted 106 laws



Citation in Lieu of Arrest

Citation in Lieu of Arrest: 50 State Chart
2012-2018: 14 states enacted 23 laws

http://www.ncsl.org/research/civil-and-criminal-justice/citation-in-lieu-of-arrest.aspx


Deflection and Diversion

 Deflection is an emerging legislative trend 

that reroutes individuals with behavioral 

health needs before arrest or before contact 

with the justice system.

 Alternatively, statutory pretrial diversion is 

well established in 48 states and the District 

of Columbia and reroutes defendants after 

arrest, but prior to adjudication or final entry 

of judgment.



Statutory Pretrial Diversion Database

Statutory Pretrial Diversion Database

http://www.ncsl.org/research/civil-and-criminal-justice/pretrial-diversion.aspx


Elections 2018



NCSL has tracked pretrial 

policy enactments since 

2012. Enactments can be 

searched by topic, year, 

state, author or bill 

number. You can also 

search the summaries by 

keyword.

Want to Know More?TOPICS

• Bond Forfeiture & 

Conditions Violations

• Budget, Oversight & 

Administration

• Citation in Lieu of 

Arrest

• Commercial Bond 

Regulation

• Conditions of 

Release

• Statutory Court 

Guidance

• Diversion/Deflection

• Eligibility for Release

• Pretrial Services & 

Programs

• Risk Assessments

• Special Populations

• Victims Protections 

and Policy



Resources and Reports from the States

 Information on the provisions I’ve discussed 

today can mostly be found in:

NCSL’s Pretrial Enactment Database 

NCSL’s Pretrial Pending Legislation Database

NCSL’s Pretrial Policy Database

 NCSL also tracks reports coming out of state 

legislatures or from the executive and judicial 

branches. Those can be found on our State 

Reports Webpage.

http://www.ncsl.org/research/civil-and-criminal-justice/state-pretrial-release-legislation.aspx
http://www.ncsl.org/research/civil-and-criminal-justice/state-pretrial-policy-bills-tracking-database.aspx
http://www.ncsl.org/research/civil-and-criminal-justice/pretrial-policy.aspx
http://www.ncsl.org/research/civil-and-criminal-justice/pretrial-policy-state-laws-reports-and-resources.aspx


Questions?
Contact me at:

amber.widgery@ncsl.org


